Facing the Tsunami of Chaos with God as my Rock

nasa-63030-unsplash

 

By Christopher Davila

Christopher is a Senior studying Psychology at Covenant College in Lookout Mountain, Georgia. He was born in Colombia, has dual citizenship in Costa Rica and the U.S., but spent most of his childhood in Santiago, Chile. Christopher loves to do art, have fun with friends and family, and experience new places around the world.

Every year we face new waves of transition. According to Dave Pollock’s Third Culture Kids book, transitions include change of routine, friend groups, and so much more. One aspect of transition that I am facing right now is chaos. Chaos is the stage of transition where you have no clue how everything is supposed to work and often feel overwhelmed. This stage can be incredibly confusing and frustrating. But, throughout it all, I am not discouraged or dismayed because I can come to the Lord for strength and guidance. He never denies His aid to me.

“The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” Psalm 18:2

This verse reminds me that even though chaotic transitions pressure me, these same stages of chaos bring me closer to the Lord. 

Through realizing this He has helped me grow as a person and in my relationship with Him. God has also begun to heal me from my pain. Through that healing He’s helping me be more empathetic towards others. He’s done this so that I may dedicate my life towards His calling for me to be a counselor to missionary kids and their families.

Transition is chaotic and hard, but it’s not a bad thing.

The MK2MK community has shown me ways that I don’t handle transition well. This community of fellow MKs has helped me grow in vulnerability and in my trust of others through being in a leadership and mentorship role. They’ve also helped me be proud of my roots and the story that God has given me growing up in Costa Rica, Colombia and Chile.

MK2MK has not only helped me grow in the face of transition, but they have also reminded me that my true home is wherever God has placed me.

 

 

 

Leave a comment